Citrix XenClient 2.1 Released

Citrix has released XenClient version 2.1. Some of the new features include:

  • Simplified Windows Image Management – with this new feature, an IT admin can now simply apply the changes they want to a single image in the datacenter and have it automatically sent out to their XenClient devices. If there are problems with an update, the Dynamic Image Management capability can simply undo the change.
  • Localization – this release introduces client side support for German, French, Spanish, Japanese and Simplified Chinese languages.
  • Over-the-air upgrades – enables simple and secure upgrades of the XenClient software from a Synchronizer or other web server. This will allow end users to upgrade to XenClient 2.1 without the need to boot CDs and means that IT can easily deploy new versions and fixes into their environment from a central location.
  • Dynamic image assembly – allows the Synchronizer for XenClient to deliver a layered image that is dynamically assembled at runtime on a local XenClient system. This technology allows for single image management in the datacenter of a dynamic local virtual desktop running on many XenClient systems.
  • Delta image updates – allows the Synchronizer for XenClient to intelligently deliver only the changes between Windows image versions to a XenClient system. This system also allows administrators to roll forward multiple versions at a time. This ensures that dynamic local virtual desktops on XenClient endpoints are moved to the latest administrator defined Windows desktop automatically and efficiently.
  • Image lockdown – ensure that only IT approved changes and IT approved applications are installed on a dynamic local virtual desktop image running on XenClient. User changes outside of their user data and user profile are automatically purged by the system ensuring a clean, consistent environment on every boot.
  • Windows image rollback – enables the undo button for Windows. This capability allows administrators to roll-back to a previous version of a Windows image in the time it takes to restart Windows. This reduces the risk of making changes to an environment as they can easily be rolled back.

Continue at source…

Technorati : ,
Del.icio.us : ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Scroll to Top