Prevent Windows 7 from Auto Assigning Networks as Public

In Windows 7, there’s an option on the window where the user chooses the network location (Home, Work, or Public) to assign to a network that when selected automatically assigns all future networks as Public. This can be annoying for those that use private networks at home or work since the Public location type disables sharing and discovery functions.

To prevent Windows 7 from automatically assigning networks as Public, simply open the Network and Sharing Center, click the Public network link under the network name and uncheck the option: Treat all future networks that I connect to as public, and don't ask me again. Then close the window.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Scroll to Top